My crafting and family life journal

Holiday break

We have a nice week long holiday break during which we have to do zero traveling, so I decided that it was time to attach my 8 year old fabric scrap bin. As it turned out there was enough fabric in it to make at least two king size quilts.

I sorted the larger pieces into two pile: remnants that could be turned into 1 1/2 strips for a pencil quilt, and others that could be cut into 2 1/2 inch patches for an English paper piecing project that I have been working on for the past two years.

The remnants for the paper piecing project have been put aside for now ans as the picture below shows I have cut a number of strips for the pencil quilt and have about 50 of the 120 blocks that I will need for the quilt either started or completed.

IMG_1471.JPG

I plan on finishing cutting and/or piecing strips and shorting the strips into color categories by the end of our holiday break. If time allows many of the blocks will also be completed and staged for pressing and trimming.

Hope that you are doing something fun for the holidays.

 

Leave a Reply

