My crafting and family life journal

Long term project update

A few weeks ago I started working on my longterm quilting project again. This project was started two years ago and it will more than likely be another 3-4 years before it is completed. The finished project will be a hand pieced king sized quilt made out of one inch hexies using fabrics from my scrap basket. So far I have cut about 3,000 scrap squares, made about 1,000 hexies (ordered the paper template from an online source), and have a 100 or so units in various stages of completion.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I really enjoy hand piecing because it can be taken anywhere and worked on while waiting or traveling. I especially enjoy this project because it allows me to work with fabrics used over many years and to think about the quilts that were created and the individuals that received the finished products.

Leave a Reply

