My crafting and family life journal

Blackwork sampler complete

Finished my first blackwork sampler yesterday. Many of the stitches used in the piece can be found on the Byrd’s Nest, Imaginesque, and Blackwork Journey sites if you would like to try them out.blackwork_samplerAfter working on the project off and on for the past four months I put aside two days to finish the sampler, knowing it I didn’t finish it soon it would end up in the UFO pile. I really enjoyed the complexity and geometry of the patterns but don’t think I take on another sampler. Instead I will take the skills learned from this project and create something closer to the types of designs I normally create — that is when a few of my started projects are finished 🙂

When the winter weather keeps us in the house for longer periods of time the blackwork sampler will be integrated into a quilt top I am making for a family member.

What are some of the projects that you have been working on this summer?

Leave a Reply

