My crafting and family life journal

Sunny Days

The past couple of weeks have been just wonderful. It has been sunny and warm almost every day and evening rains have taken care of the garden watering. For the past week we have been able to pick blueberries, sour cherries, raspberries, asparagus and kale daily, so needless to say we had wonderful salads and smoothies for our meals.

Last week between tending the vegetable gardens and house chores I finally got around to splitting and re-planting a few of the hosta groupings around trees, by the pond and along the hillside on the side of the house. I was really surprised by the number of plants that I ended up with after the splitting… I really shouldn’t let this process go for so many years :(… this fall I need to attack the long overdue splitting of the iris patches…

Quite time on the patio has also allowed me to  work on a few needlepoint pillow tops (normally have 2-3 going at a time), and the late nights even provided time to finish a few of the units.

pillows

Over the next few weeks I will be finishing up 2-3 more pillow tops before I move onto a few quilt projects waiting in the wings, and dehydrating and  canning of some of this seasons produce.

Comments on: "Sunny Days" (2)

  1. Your quilts are beautiful, I don’t understand why you feel you cannot do the quilting to the standard you are looking for. Every project you have ever put your mind to has been near perfection. I would suggest some scrap trial and error to achieve your expected results, then quilt your own.

  2. Thank you for the kind words and suggestion. I plan on spending a fair amount of time this winter practicing machine quilting.

Leave a Reply

