My crafting and family life journal

It is March 31st and the temperatures are still in the teens in the evening and between 35 and 42 during the day. A few days ago we started to see a bit of ground under the snow, but the ground is still frozen, so no yard work can start for a few weeks. Fortunately, we have been provided with a number of sunny days that have allowed us to enjoy the changing season from within warm closed spaces.

gardenplan2015

Cloud based version of Farmers Almanac software used to create the garden plan — great tool that provides some very helpful information on planting in the various zones

The abnormally long cold season has allowed me to finish up a few projects and start the vegetable seeds that need to be started indoors due to our short growing period this far north. The seedlings are doing well on the sun porch and garden beds have been planed out for the season, I have also been able to complete my Women’s Rights needlepoint piece.

womensRightsProject2015

It has been a few years since I worked on any needlepoint, but with all the unrest reported in the new the past few months I couldn’t get the idea for the project out of my head, so I picked up a piece of 16 mesh mono canvas I bought several years ago and drafted the design. Once the design was drafted and stitches selected the ~20 X 30 inch piece came together in a couple of months.

Women's Rights needlepoint close up 2

The ladies and background of the needlepoint piece were stitched with a combination of silks and wools, and cotton floss was used for the lettering. All of the women have a few embellishments and  tried to create hair styles that appropriate for the races represented.

womensRights_closeup1

A red and gold weave patterned cloth was used for the border and backing and the unit was sandwiched with a wool batting.  Simple quilting was done on the border as to not detract from the main focus of the piece.

I believe that I have been bitten by the canvas work bug again…. I think I will work on a few needlework pillow designs before I get back to my quilting projects.

Leave a Reply

