My crafting and family life journal

A couple of weeks ago I started working on a quilt that I designed more than a year ago. The piece is a bit of a study in merging a number of  techniques.

image

Four fabric layers down and a few more to go before the dancer can be placed

So far I have employed three of the five different techniques that will be used in the top: liquid starch and freezer paper applique, and paper piecing.

Paper pieced moon

Paper pieced moon

Even though I color coded the paper template the seam ripper was my best friend with the moon block… piecing the block was challenging but I really like the way it turned out.

liquid starch applique unit

liquid starch applique unit

I really dislike raw edge applique, so I used the liquid starch method and a clear plastic template to create the dancer for the quilt. She will be one of the last items placed on the top. The background will have to be completed before the best place for her can be determined.

Does anyone have ideas on what type of border the piece should be finished with? I have drawn and erased borders many times, but have not settled on a finish yet. I would love some input.

Comments on: "Dance to the Light of the Moon" (4)

  1. Beautiful so far. I’ll look forward to seeing your progress. As to border, I would go pretty minimal, and dark. But I don’t think you’ll know for sure until you have the body of the work done.

    • I have to agree with you Melanie. I was thinking about starting with a 1/2 inch dark blue or black inner border and then a 3 inch outer border — what the outer border will be is still a mystery to me.

      Thank you for your input.

      JoAnn

  2. The moon is phenominal! So much depth. Sometimes when i’ve struggled with a border, i’ve ended up making it borderless, which has worked well. Cant wait to see it finished

Leave a Reply

