My crafting and family life journal

Life has been so busy around my house recently that there has been little time to make tasty meals. Thank goodness the freezer was full of items that could just be taken out and warmed. This weekend I did work in making the bread for the next few weeks, but that was about it. Monday we had pesto made over the summer and lentil meatballs over rice pasta, but with the amount that was left on the table I knew that I needed to make something fresh today.  I pulled out an old standby recipe that is healthy, tasty and low calorie — a carrot soup that I haven’t made in ages… good thing the soup was low in calories, because I served it with grilled cheese sandwiches that were served on the pumpkin-rosemary bread with biga that I made with teff flour (from the   gluten-free & vegan bread book) — which wasn’t that low in calories, but oh so tasty.

Since the soup only takes about 15 minutes to prepare and another 25 minutes to cook, I thought I would share the recipe with you.

carrot soup with grilled cheese

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp of olive oil
  • 1 onion chopped
  • 1 tbsp curry power
  • 2 pounds carrots, chopped
  • 4 cups vegetable broth (I like to use mushroom broth)

Directions

carrot soup ingredients

  1. Heat the oil in a medium to large pot over medium heat.
  2. Saute onion until tender and translucent.

    carrot soup onion and curry power mixture

  3. Stir the curry powder into the onion.

    carrot soup mixture

  4. Add the chopped carrots, and stir until the carrots are coated.
  5. Pour in the vegetable broth, and simmer until the carrots are soft.
  6. Transfer te mixture to a blinder, and puree until smooth.
  7. Pour back into the pot, and thin with water if you prefer a thinner soup.
  8. Enjoy.
Comments on: "Easy, healthy 5 ingredient soup" (3)

  1. I’m going to have to try your carrot soup. I’m trying to include more “orange” in our diet and the soup looks so good!

  2. YUMMY!

    Sent from iPhone Laura

Leave a Reply

