My crafting and family life journal

Looks like an interesting block to try.

Christa Quilts

New to my blog?

Join my weekly email newsletter and get a free PDF quilt pattern.

Modern Dresden

This my contemporary interpretation of a Dresden Plate block. I call it “Deco Dresden.” I am sharing this design for you to use for your personal use only.

Modern Dresden in OrangeI started with the idea of “plates” or “wedges” radiating out from a center. But instead of classic curves, I wanted to keep my design straight and angular. So I played around with lines and angles in EQ7 and this is what I came up with.

Update

I have now turned this pattern into a free quilt along!

Click here for links to the free paper pieced pattern and tutorials.

 

And just for the fun of it, here’s the same design in purple. It really sparkles by using lighter hues of the same color at the edges of the blocks.

Modern Dresden in Purple

If you decide…

View original post 47 more words

Leave a Reply

