My crafting and family life journal

Harlequin Dance

I don’t think there is a day that goes by that I don’t work one one quilt or another, but in the summer time I need projects that can travel. I am normally the passenger on our road trips to visit friends, take in some of the sights, kayak a new river or to camp in the white or green mountains, so I have a “busy box” that allows me to piece and quilt smaller items during drives and down time. The Harlequin Dance pillow below is one of the “Busy Box” projects that I completed last night.

hariguin dance full

This 20 inch  pillow is hand pieced using a modified cathedral window pattern that uses three fabrics instead of the traditional two. I also used a series of polished cotton tone-on-tone fabrics with multiple weaves to add depth to the piece as well as a little eye candy. Covered buttons were added to provide some additional dimension to the pillow.

harliquin dance square

The top was then layered with a high loft batting, muslin and backed with a complementary fabric. A goose down pillow so that it will say nice and fluffy.

harliquin square corner

 

 

Comments on: "Harlequin Dance" (4)

  1. I really like that style of Cathedral Window. I don’t think I’ve seen it before. Well done!

Leave a Reply

