My crafting and family life journal

Quinoa Burgers

IMG_1151

Today I spent most of my day working on my website and cutting fabric for a demonstration that I will be doing at a quilt show next week, so I had little time to creating a dinner for my family.  Luckily a quinoa burger (~ 10 grams of protein per burger) recipe came to my rescue  — add some jasmine rice and a green vegetable and  I had a quick and tasty meal.

Ingredients

  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup pine nuts
  • 1/4 cup fresh basil
  • 1 tbsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp cumin powder
  • 1/2 cup onion, diced
  • 1 cup cooked black beans
  • 1 tsp salt (omit if using canned beans)
  • 1/2 cup diced sweet red pepper
  • 3 cups cooked quinoa (1 cup dry)
  • rice flour
  • 2 tbsp olive oil

quinoa burgers cooking

Directions

  1. Cook quinoa according to package directions.
  2. Saute onions until translucent.
  3. Combine everything except quinoa, olive oil and rice flour in food processor.
  4. Mix blended mixture and quinoa together.
  5. Divide into 6-7 burgers, roll in flour to make a crust.
  6. Pan fry in olive oil until browned.
  7. Serve warm with a few side dishes.
Comments on: "Quinoa Burgers" (1)

  1. […] Quinoa Burgers (rainbowquilts.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

